John Link     compositions | home

Shadow Traffic
for b-flat clarinet (doubling e-flat clarinet) and piano

Shadow Traffic, for clarinet and piano, is a single movement in three large sections. In the opening allegro vivace, the clarinet first plays an expressive melody, then joins the piano's quick toccata. In the scherzando, melodic fragments ticking along at different speeds are passed back and forth among the instruments. Near the middle of this section there is a very slow, sustained melody in the piano's lowest register. After a gradual transition to the lento tempo, and a brief piano solo, this melody is taken up by the clarinet in its highest register. Throughout the piece occasional moments of seriousness give way to music of a more playful character. Shadow Traffic is dedicated to Lisa Johnson and Christopher Oldfather.

date: 1994
duration: 8:30
premiere: June 9, 1994, Merkin Hall, New York, NY; Friends & Enemies of New Music; Lisa Johnson - clarinet, Christopher Oldfather - piano.